Let’s Work Together!

Dr Phil,

My intention for writing this blog is to be invited to speak about teen dating violence on your show.

When I was 15 years old I was in an abusive relationship.  I finally got the strength to end the relationship after two bruised ribs and a concussion.  An overview of ‘My Story’ can be found at the top of the blog.

About two weeks ago I heard you on the Ryan Seacrest morning show speaking about your new campaign; “End the Silence on Domestic Violence.”

I was so delighted to hear your commitment to speak about domestic violence.

I would like to highlight, in my opinion, that you are excluding one huge demographic.

After hearing your interview and subsequently reviewing your website, I can see your focus is on domestic violence between married couples and not on teenage dating violence.

As you state on your website, abuse is three times more likely to occur with young women ages 16 to 24.  That is a huge statistic that needs more attention.

Teenage relationships are typically entered into with little guidance.

Technology has enabled abusers to stay in constant contact.

I will use this blog to show statistics, warning signs, give examples, talk about the cycle of violence and provide lots of other important information to help and do my part to “End the Silence on Domestic Violence.”

I have spent six years speaking out in order to educate teens about teenage dating violence.  I have spoken at schools, prisons, conferences and informal gatherings, and my story has been featured on news shows and in magazines.

I hope over the course of this blog I am able to help point out reasons why teen dating violence needs to be a larger part of your “End the Silence on Domestic Violence” campaign.  I hope to reach teens currently in unhealthy relationships and viewers who might know someone in an unhealthy relationship, and also teach teens about the warning signs.

Relationship Violence. Break the Silence. Be Part of the Solution.
You Can Make a Difference, You Can Save Lives.
-Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let’s Work Together!

  1. Tracey Grown says:

    Dear Sarah,
    Thank you for speaking up. Your goal is admirable. Girls need to have this topic brought up in their early years so they can learn what is acceptable behavior and not acceptable behavior from boys and men, and know what they should do and where they can turn if anything ever happens of this type in their own lives or the lives of someone they know.

  2. Sheryl says:

    You Rock Sarah. Keep raising your voice to focus attention on a serious issue!! Dr. Phil should pick you.

  3. Wow Sarah, good for you for finding the strength to leave the relationship, most women unfortunately don’t. I just did a project for another class on teen dating violence. You should look into the “Love is Not Abuse” Campaign that Liz Claiborne Inc sponsors. I look forward to more of your posts and story.

  4. stumbledupod says:

    Hi just thought i would tell you something.. This is twice now i?ve landed on your blog in the last 3 weeks looking for completely unrelated things. Great Info! Keep up the good work.

  5. wow says:

    Wow! what an idea ! What a concept ! Beautiful .. Amazing …

  6. Nick Tossey says:

    Your topic is so clear and straight-forward that that it almost has to work. You and Dr. Phil could be a powerful duo towards changing this issue and I’d really like to see it happen. I’ll look for you on tv!

  7. rebeccashead says:

    It’s so great that you are helping other people through your experiences in an abusive relationship. I’m sure it wasn’t easy to just put yourself out there and tell everyone about your experience. You have such great information on your blog, and I can tell you are truly passionate about this subject, and I have my fingers crossed for you to get on Dr. Phil!

Leave a Reply

