1 is 2 Many

I can’t believe it has been two years since I have posted on this blog.  I am now a college graduate, working in the real world of public relations and am currently going back to school to get my MBA.  A LOT has changed in my life, but unfortunately the statistics concerning Domestic Violence have not gone down for the better.  Since October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month, I thought now would be an appropriate time to start contributing to the blog again.

I recently came across a PSA created for Vice President Biden’s 1 is 2 Many Campaign that he started last year.  I am surprised I have never heard about the campaign before, but am excited to learn about it now

I can’t believe my eyes.  The President of the United States? David Beckham? Evan Longoria? Eli Manning? I am so excited to see these big names coming together in an effort to try and end domestic violence, but why have I never seen it until now?

I just went to Evan Longoria’s twitter page, and searched all the way back until May.  Not once has he tweeted about the video to all of his fans to spread the word.

It is great to get celebrities on a campaign to try and help, but they need to continue to spread the word.

As I am writing this post, the video has been seen by 155,238 people.  Let’s make a decision right now to get that number up.  Today is only October 4th.  By October 31st, let’s bring that number up to 200,000.  I know this seems like a difficult challenge, but I know we can do it.  If any of the celebrities in the video tweet it out, or post it on their facebook page we will quickly get to that number.

Help me spread the word about the video.  Let’s do our part in trying to end the silence on domestic violence.

Here are all of the twitter handles for the celebrities in the video.

President Barak Obama – @BarakObama

Vice President Joe Biden – @JoeBiden

Eli Manning – Doesn’t have a twitter … WHAT? Okay here’s his facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/EliManning?ref=ts&fref=ts

Jeremy Lin – @JLin7

Jimmy Rollins – @JimmyRollins11

Evan Longoria – @Evan3Longoria

David Beckham – and David doesn’t have a twitter either.. http://www.facebook.com/Beckham?ref=ts&fref=ts

Joe Torre – @JoeTorre (He hasn’t tweeted since January 2011, but he has 19,000 followers

Andy Katz – @ESPNAndyKatz

We have to change it. It is up to us.

1 Is 2 Many.

Happy tweeting and I will check in with you soon.

Relationship Violence. Break the Silence. Be Part of the Solution.
You Can Make a Difference, You Can Save Lives.
-Sarah

Statistics image was taken from the 1 is 2 Many website

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

